I can’t Stop Thinking

I often have trouble with the issue of having too many ideas. kind of like the opposite of a Creative Block, I am flooded with more Ideas for projects than I can ever hope to complete. There are also those times when I am convinced that I can “do it all” and then only be reminded that when you try to do everything at once, you get nothing done at all….

This piece is a tribute to the clients experience in Rhode Island
This piece is a tribute to the clients experience in Rhode Island

One of the most important things to do in these situations, is to prioritize a project, and decide on a secondary project, then focus only on those, moving the secondary project up when the primary is complete, or in my case, as tattooing is my primary work, the secondary projects cycle, and tattooing remains primary. Keep in mind. your priority slot can only be one thing, having multiple priorities, is having no priorities at all.

Original art by Comic book Superstar, Jim Lee. A lifelong favorite of mine.
Original art by Comic book Superstar, Jim Lee. A lifelong favorite of mine.

A way I manage my priorities, is that I will work on tattooing or tattoo designs, and if I have a lull in work, or need to take a creative break, I switch gears to my secondary project. But it’s important to not get too caught up on the secondary project, and return to the primary.

Just this practice alone has helped me with time management, and keeps my clients from getting too impatient when waiting for me to get back to them with designs.

Thanks for Reading! I’ll be back next monday with another short topic on my work.

Memorial Images.
Memorial Images.

Leave a comment